Monday, December 31, 2012

Six ways fleet operators save on gas (and you can, too)

While you may long for $2 gas, the truth is that higher prices ? in the $3 to $4 a gallon range ? are the new normal. And daily prices are more volatile than ever. Prior to 2004, price changes of more than 3 cents a day were rare, occurring on average only once every 17 days. Since 2004, such price swings occur virtually every other day, with changes of 5 cents or more happening 1 in every 4 days.? Businesses ? particularly fleet-based companies ? have found ways to hedge against this volatility to save money on fuel ? lessons that consumers can easily apply. Here are six money-saving tips, used by fleet operators:

- Matt Tormollen,?Contributor

Gas prices are displayed in this November 2012 file photo in Montpelier, Vt. Shop around for the best price on gas, which usually means avoiding stations in large central cities and affluent suburbs. (Toby Talbot/AP/File)

1. Comparison shop for the best price on gas

Despite the high price of gas, consumers still can find a bargain if they?re savvy shoppers. Smartphone apps and price-comparison websites, such as GasBuddy.com, can help you find which stations are selling the cheapest gas. As a general rule, avoid stations in large central cities and affluent suburbs. Stations that are very convenient, located at interstate exits, for example, may also charge more than another one just a few blocks away.

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Source: http://rss.csmonitor.com/~r/feeds/csm/~3/MNI4G9P83XA/Six-ways-fleet-operators-save-on-gas-and-you-can-too

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Former Florida Supreme Court Justice Passes Away

Tallahassee, FL - December 30, 2012

Former Florida Supreme Court Justice Ben F. Overton died Saturday, December 29, in Gainesville, Florida, of complications from heart surgery. He was 86 and was Florida's 62nd Justice since statehood.

"Justice Overton was one of the most influential members of the Court after the sweeping reforms of the 1970s," said Chief Justice Ricky Polston. "He will be remembered not only for his far-seeing opinions but also for his efforts in the 1970s to make the state courts more accessible by allowing cameras into our courtrooms."

In the mid-1970s, Overton was one of several newly appointed Justices who elevated the reputation of the Court after it earlier had become involved in scandal. He was the first Justice chosen through a merit selection process created by Gov. Reubin Askew that soon was added to the Florida Constitution by vote of the people.

From his appointment on March 27, 1974, until his retirement on January 4, 1999, Overton authored more than 1400 decisions and was a central figure in a vast series of reforms that made his Court one of the most respected and accessible in the nation. He served as Chief Justice from 1976-1978 and chaired the Article V Review Commission in 1984.

He not only helped make Florida one of the first states to allow television coverage of court cases, but also was instrumental in making the state Supreme Court one of the first in the world to have a website. Overton later played a pivotal role in seeing that every Florida Supreme Court case was televised, webcast, and stored in an on-line archive.

Born in Green Bay, Wisconsin, Overton attended the University of Florida and later received his degree from its law school in 1952. He also earned an LL.M in jurisprudence from the University of Virginia in 1984.

Overton served nearly 10 years on the Pinellas County circuit court and, for several years, as its chief judge. He was well known for his work in legal education and dispute resolution and was Chairman of the Dispute Resolution Section of the American Bar Association. He was also an active adjunct professor of law at the University of Florida's Levin College of Law.

Predeceased by his wife Marilyn, Overton is survived by his children Judge William H. Overton, Robert M. Overton, and Catherine L. Overton; 2 grandchildren William E. and Brian H.; and one great grandchild, Adelynn.

Services will be held on Saturday morning, January 5, 2013 in Gainesville and Justice Overton will lie in state at the Florida Supreme Court on Monday, January 7, 2013. He will be interred in St. Petersburg, Florida on Wednesday, January 9, 2013.

Further details will be released when available.

Source: http://www.wctv.tv/news/headlines/Former-Florida-Supreme-Court-Justice-Passes-Away-185232352.html

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AP IMPACT: Big Pharma cashes in on HGH abuse

A federal crackdown on illicit foreign supplies of human growth hormone has failed to stop rampant misuse, and instead has driven record sales of the drug by some of the world's biggest pharmaceutical companies, an Associated Press investigation shows.

The crackdown, which began in 2006, reduced the illegal flow of unregulated supplies from China, India and Mexico.

But since then, Big Pharma has been satisfying the steady desires of U.S. users and abusers, including many who take the drug in the false hope of delaying the effects of aging.

From 2005 to 2011, inflation-adjusted sales of HGH were up 69 percent, according to an AP analysis of pharmaceutical company data collected by the research firm IMS Health. Sales of the average prescription drug rose just 12 percent in that same period.

___

EDITOR'S NOTE ? Whether for athletics or age, Americans from teenagers to baby boomers are trying to get an edge by illegally using anabolic steroids and human growth hormone, despite well-documented risks. This is the second of a two-part series.

___

Unlike other prescription drugs, HGH may be prescribed only for specific uses. U.S. sales are limited by law to treat a rare growth defect in children and a handful of uncommon conditions like short bowel syndrome or Prader-Willi syndrome, a congenital disease that causes reduced muscle tone and a lack of hormones in sex glands.

The AP analysis, supplemented by interviews with experts, shows too many sales and too many prescriptions for the number of people known to be suffering from those ailments. At least half of last year's sales likely went to patients not legally allowed to get the drug. And U.S. pharmacies processed nearly double the expected number of prescriptions.

Peddled as an elixir of life capable of turning middle-aged bodies into lean machines, HGH ? a synthesized form of the growth hormone made naturally by the human pituitary gland ? winds up in the eager hands of affluent, aging users who hope to slow or even reverse the aging process.

Experts say these folks don't need the drug, and may be harmed by it. The supposed fountain-of-youth medicine can cause enlargement of breast tissue, carpal tunnel syndrome and swelling of hands and feet. Ironically, it also can contribute to aging ailments like heart disease and Type 2 diabetes.

Others in the medical establishment also are taking a fat piece of the profits ? doctors who fudge prescriptions, as well as pharmacists and distributors who are content to look the other way. HGH also is sold directly without prescriptions, as new-age snake oil, to patients at anti-aging clinics that operate more like automated drug mills.

Years of raids, sports scandals and media attention haven't stopped major drugmakers from selling a whopping $1.4 billion worth of HGH in the U.S. last year. That's more than industry-wide annual gross sales for penicillin or prescription allergy medicine. Anti-aging HGH regimens vary greatly, with a yearly cost typically ranging from $6,000 to $12,000 for three to six self-injections per week.

Across the U.S., the medication is often dispensed through prescriptions based on improper diagnoses, carefully crafted to exploit wiggle room in the law restricting use of HGH, the AP found.

HGH is often promoted on the Internet with the same kind of before-and-after photos found in miracle diet ads, along with wildly hyped claims of rapid muscle growth, loss of fat, greater vigor, and other exaggerated benefits to adults far beyond their physical prime. Sales also are driven by the personal endorsement of celebrities such as actress Suzanne Somers.

Pharmacies that once risked prosecution for using unauthorized, foreign HGH ? improperly labeled as raw pharmaceutical ingredients and smuggled across the border ? now simply dispense name brands, often for the same banned uses. And usually with impunity.

Eight companies have been granted permission to market HGH by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, which reviews the benefits and risks of new drug products. By contrast, three companies are approved for the diabetes drug insulin.

The No. 1 maker, Roche subsidiary Genentech, had nearly $400 million in HGH sales in the U.S. last year, up an inflation-adjusted two-thirds from 2005. Pfizer and Eli Lilly were second and third with $300 million and $220 million in sales, respectively, according to IMS Health. Pfizer now gets more revenue from its HGH brand, Genotropin, than from Zoloft, its well-known depression medicine that lost patent protection.

On their face, the numbers make no sense to the recognized hormone doctors known as endocrinologists who provide legitimate HGH treatment to a small number of patients.

Endocrinologists estimate there are fewer than 45,000 U.S. patients who might legitimately take HGH. They would be expected to use roughly 180,000 prescriptions or refills each year, given that typical patients get three months' worth of HGH at a time, according to doctors and distributors.

Yet U.S. pharmacies last year supplied almost twice that much HGH ? 340,000 orders ? according to AP's analysis of IMS Health data.

While doctors say more than 90 percent of legitimate patients are children with stunted growth, 40 percent of 442 U.S. side-effect cases tied to HGH over the last year involved people age 18 or older, according to an AP analysis of FDA data. The average adult's age in those cases was 53, far beyond the prime age for sports. The oldest patients were in their 80s.

Some of these medical records even give explicit hints of use to combat aging, justifying treatment with reasons like fatigue, bone thinning and "off-label," which means treatment of an unapproved condition

Even Medicare, the government health program for older Americans, allowed 22,169 HGH prescriptions in 2010, a five-year increase of 78 percent, according to data released by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in response to an AP public records request.

"There's no question: a lot gets out," said hormone specialist Dr. Mark Molitch of Northwestern University, who helped write medical standards meant to limit HGH treatment to legitimate patients.

And those figures don't include HGH sold directly by doctors without prescriptions at scores of anti-aging medical practices and clinics around the country. Those numbers could only be tallied by drug makers, who have declined to say how many patients they supply and for what conditions.

First marketed in 1985 for children with stunted growth, HGH was soon misappropriated by adults intent on exploiting its modest muscle- and bone-building qualities. Congress limited HGH distribution to the handful of rare conditions in an extraordinary 1990 law, overriding the generally unrestricted right of doctors to prescribe medicines as they see fit.

Despite the law, illicit HGH spread around the sports world in the 1990s, making deep inroads into bodybuilding, college athletics, and professional leagues from baseball to cycling. The even larger banned market among older adults has flourished more recently.

FDA regulations ban the sale of HGH as an anti-aging drug. In fact, since 1990, prescribing it for things like weight loss and strength conditioning has been punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison.

Steve Kleppe, of Scottsdale, Ariz., a restaurant entrepreneur who has taken HGH for almost 15 years to keep feeling young, said he noticed a price jump of about 25 percent after the block on imports. He now buys HGH directly from a doctor at an annual cost of about $8,000 for himself and the same amount for his wife.

Many older patients go for HGH treatment to scores of anti-aging practices and clinics heavily concentrated in retirement states like Florida, Nevada, Arizona and California.

These sites are affiliated with hundreds of doctors who are rarely endocrinologists. Instead, many tout certification by the American Board of Anti-Aging and Regenerative Medicine, though the medical establishment does not recognize the group's bona fides.

The clinics offer personalized programs of "age management" to business executives, affluent retirees, and other patients of means, sometimes coupled with the amenities of a vacation resort. The operations insist there are few, if any, side effects from HGH. Mainstream medical authorities say otherwise.

A 2007 review of 31 medical studies showed swelling in half of HGH patients, with joint pain or diabetes in more than a fifth. A French study of about 7,000 people who took HGH as children found a 30 percent higher risk of death from causes like bone tumors and stroke, stirring a health advisory from U.S. authorities.

For proof that the drug works, marketers turn to images like the memorable one of pot-bellied septuagenarian Dr. Jeffry Life, supposedly transformed into a ripped hulk of himself by his own program available at the upscale Las Vegas-based Cenegenics Elite Health. (He declined to be interviewed.)

These promoters of HGH say there is a connection between the drop-off in growth hormone levels through adulthood and the physical decline that begins in late middle age. Replace the hormone, they say, and the aging process slows.

"It's an easy ruse. People equate hormones with youth," said Dr. Tom Perls, a leading industry critic who does aging research at Boston University. "It's a marketing dream come true."

___

Associated Press Writer David B. Caruso reported from New York and AP National Writer Jeff Donn reported from Plymouth, Mass. AP Writer Troy Thibodeaux provided data analysis assistance from New Orleans.

___

AP's interactive on the HGH investigation: http://hosted.ap.org/interactives/2012/hgh

___

The AP National Investigative Team can be reached at investigate(at)ap.org

EDITOR'S NOTE _ Whether for athletics or age, Americans from teenagers to baby boomers are trying to get an edge by illegally using anabolic steroids and human growth hormone, despite well-documented risks. This is the second of a two-part series.

Source: http://news.yahoo.com/ap-impact-big-pharma-cashes-hgh-abuse-073401816--finance.html

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Tech Radar Blogs for Windows 8

CNET TechTracker will now automatically install software without requiring further action by you. (Note: This feature automatically accepts associated EULAs and third party applications on your behalf.)

You have selected the following software to Smart Install:

CNET TechTracker will attempt to install this software without interrupting you again. If an application requires manual installation, CNET TechTracker will download the installer and prompt you to take further action.

Proceed with Smart Install?

Confirm Standard Install Cancel

Source: http://download.cnet.com/Tech-Radar-Blogs-for-Windows-8/3000-2164_4-75833943.html

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Sunday, December 30, 2012

Rotterdam?s Chinese light festival

  • Feyenoord to miss Schaken for six weeks

    Amsterdam News.Net - Friday 28th December, 2012

    Dutch league title contenders Feyenoord will miss Ruben Schaken for at least six weeks because the winger needed immediate surgery on his groin, Dutch media reported. The Dutch football ...

  • Moroccans voice opposition to Dutch ?abortion ship?

    Al Arabiya - Friday 28th December, 2012

    The Dutch non-profit organization Women on Waves, which is organizing the visit, says the ship will arrive at Smir, in northern Morocco on Thursday afternoon, around 40 kilometers (25 miles) east of ...

  • Spending a night in a Dutch ice hotel

    Kuwait Times - Friday 28th December, 2012

    Published Date: December 29, 2011 It could be any standard hotel room in the quaint northeastern Dutch city of Zwolle, with a bed, a minibar, bathrobes and two pairs of slippers. Except for the ...

  • Dutch pension funds need ?firm measures? to return to satisfactory funding levels

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    Firm measures are necessary to bring scheme funding levels of Dutch pension funds up to the minimum required funding ratio of 105 per cent within five years, warns De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) in ...

  • Dutch pension funds sell off securities

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    EUR 26bn worth of securities were sold by Dutch pension funds in the fourth quarter of 2008, according to figures published by De Nederlandsche Bank. The funds carried out equities sales ...

  • Dutch tax authorities rule on landmark tax rebate for UK pension funds

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    UK pension funds are set to enjoy a ?100million rebate from the Dutch tax authorities following a tax ruling, says the UK branch of KPMG. The professional services provider?s test ...

  • Net worth of Dutch investment funds decreases further

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    The net worth of supervised Dutch investment funds fell by ?6.4bn (eight per cent) in the third quarter of 2008 (Q3 2008), with De Nederlandsche Bank attributing losses to investment ...

  • Dutch pension funds receive ?4.9bn in dividends over 11 months

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    Between April 2007 and March 2008, Dutch pension funds are reported as having received ?4.9bn in dividends on quoted shares, according to De Nederlandsche Bank. Pension fund holdings of ...

  • Netherlands streets ahead in use of Liability Driven Investment

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    Sixty-one per cent of Dutch pension funds are currently employing a Liability Driven Investment (LDI) strategy, an increase of 18 per cent on last year?s figures. Fiduciary manager SEI ...

  • Slight growth in Dutch mutual funds

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    Dutch mutual funds expanded their share in Dutch household investments from 54 per cent to 55 per cent in the first quarter 2008, according to De Nederlandsche Bank. The Bank said the increase ...

  • Dutch pension liabilities fall

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    The value of the Dutch pension funds? technical provisions stood at approximately ?493bn at year-end 2007, a drop in liabilities of ?14bn, according to De Nederlandsche Bank. ...

  • Dutch metal pension funds launch joint in SRI policy

    European Pensions - Friday 28th December, 2012

    The two Dutch pension funds for the metal industry, the ?33bn Pensioenfonds Metaalelektro (PMT) and the ?21.5bn Pensioenfonds Metaal en Techniek (PME), have launched a joint social ...

  • Source: http://www.amsterdamnews.net/index.php/sid/211650614/scat/ec440608e2050e3b

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    Online advertising | how to increase website traffic

    • Search engine optimization
    • Social media marketing
    • Email marketing
    • Referral marketing
    • Content marketing
    • Pay per click
    • Cost per impression
    • Search analytics
    • Web analytics
    • Contextual advertising
    • Behavioral targeting
    • Cost per action
    • Revenue sharing
    • Streaming media
    • Electronic books
    • Software
    • Banking
    • Food ordering
    • Online flower delivery
    • Online pharmacy
    • DVD-by-mail
    • Travel
    • Trading communities
    • Auctions
    • Online wallet
    • Advertising
    • Price comparison service
    • Social commerce
    • Payment
    • Ticketing
    • Banking
    • Product marketing
    • Pricing
    • Distribution
    • Service
    • Retail
    • Brand management
    • Account-based marketing
    • Ethics
    • Effectiveness
    • Research
    • Segmentation
    • Strategy
    • Activation
    • Management
    • Dominance
    • Marketing operations
    • Advertising
    • Branding
    • Underwriting spot
    • Direct marketing
    • Personal sales
    • Product placement
    • Publicity
    • Sales promotion
    • Sex in advertising
    • Loyalty marketing
    • Mobile marketing
    • Premiums
    • Prizes
    • Printing
    • Publication
    • Broadcasting
    • Out-of-home advertising
    • Internet
    • Point of sale
    • Merchandise
    • Digital marketing
    • In-game advertising
    • Product demonstration
    • Word-of-mouth
    • Brand ambassador
    • Drip marketing
    • Visual merchandising

    Online marketing, also known as online advertisement, internet marketing, online marketing or e-marketing, is the marketing and promotion of products or services over the Internet.Online advertising is a form of promotion that uses the Internet and World Wide Web to deliver marketing messages to attract customers.Examples of online advertising include contextual ads on search engine results pages, banner ads, blogs, rich media Ads, social network advertising, interstitial ads, online classified advertising, advertising networks, dynamic banner ads, cross-platform ads and e-mail marketing, including e-mail spam. Many of these types of ads are delivered by an ad server.Online advertising is a form of promotion that uses the Internet and World Wide Web to deliver marketing messages to attract customers.Contents

    • 1 History of online advertising
    • 2 Competitive advantage over traditional advertising
    • 3 Online advertisement
    • 4 Types of Internet marketing

      4.1 Business models
      4.2 Revenue models
      4.3 Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television

    • 4.1 Business models
    • 4.2 Revenue models
    • 4.3 Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television
    • 5 Approaches

      5.1 One-to-one approaches
      5.2 Appeal to specific interests
      5.3 Niche marketing
      5.4 Geo-targeting

    • 5.1 One-to-one approaches
    • 5.2 Appeal to specific interests
    • 5.3 Niche marketing
    • 5.4 Geo-targeting
    • 6 Types

      6.1 E-mail advertising
      6.2 Display advertising
      6.3 Affiliate marketing
      6.4 Behavioral targeting
      6.5 Semantic advertising
      6.6 Social network advertising

    • 6.1 E-mail advertising
    • 6.2 Display advertising
    • 6.3 Affiliate marketing
    • 6.4 Behavioral targeting
    • 6.5 Semantic advertising
    • 6.6 Social network advertising
    • 7 Ad server market structure
    • 8 Advantages and limitations of Internet marketing

      8.1 Advantages

    • 8.1 Advantages
    • 9 Problems of online advertising

      9.1 Privacy
      9.2 Malware
      9.3 Limitations
      9.4 Security concerns

    • 9.1 Privacy
    • 9.2 Malware
    • 9.3 Limitations
    • 9.4 Security concerns
    • 10 Ethics
    • 11 ?Internet marketing? scams
    • 12 Usage trends
    • 13 Effects on industries

      13.1 Advertising industry

    • 13.1 Advertising industry
    • 14 Film and television marketing
    • 15 See also
    • 16 References
    • 4.1 Business models
    • 4.2 Revenue models
    • 4.3 Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television
    • 5.1 One-to-one approaches
    • 5.2 Appeal to specific interests
    • 5.3 Niche marketing
    • 5.4 Geo-targeting
    • 6.1 E-mail advertising
    • 6.2 Display advertising
    • 6.3 Affiliate marketing
    • 6.4 Behavioral targeting
    • 6.5 Semantic advertising
    • 6.6 Social network advertising
    • 9.1 Privacy
    • 9.2 Malware
    • 9.3 Limitations
    • 9.4 Security concerns
    • 13.1 Advertising industry

    History of online advertising

    Online advertising began in 1994 when HotWire sold the first banner ads to several advertisers.[1]Revenue in the United States grew to an estimated $7.1 billion in 2001 or about 3.1 percent of overall advertising spending. The dot-com bust destroyed or weakened many of the early online advertising industry players and reduced the demand for online advertising and related services.The industry regained momentum by 2004 as the business model for ?Web 2.0? came together.[2]A number of businesses emerged that facilitated the buying and selling of advertising space on web pages. Entities that operated web portals settled on the traditional ?free-tv? model: generate traffic by giving away the content and sell that traffic to advertisers. Most web sites, with the exception of transaction ones such as eBay, generate the preponderance of their revenues from the sale of advertising inventory?the eyeballs that view space allocated for promotions?to advertisers. In the first half of 2007 alone, advertisers in the US spent more than $10 billion advertising on websites.[3]That was about 14 percent of all advertising spending.The portion of advertising that is done online will increase significantly over time as more devices such as mobile telephones and televisions are connected to the Internet and people spend more time on these devices. The valuations that the capital markets are placing on businesses related to online advertising are consistent with this prediction. Google has had a seven-fold increase in its market value from August 2004 when it was valued at $29 billion to $215 billion in December 2007. During 2007 several companies in the online advertising market were purchased at multiples of 10-15 times annual revenues.[4][5][6]The online advertising industry burst into the public eye in 2007. Google?s sky-rocketing stock price and its forays into industries such as word processing software, online payments, and mobile telephones drew significant attention. More than 500 articles on Google appeared in the New York Times, Wall St. Journal and the Financial Times during the year. The U.S. Federal Trade Commission and the European Commission launched in-depth antitrust investigations into Google?s acquisition of DoubleClick, which provides software technology and services to online advertisers and publishers.[7]Privacy concerns also came to the fore in 2007 as consumers, government agencies and the media started focusing on the massive amount of personal data that online advertising companies were storing and using.[8][9]Businesses began to move their advertising efforts into areas by making wide use of social media from 2009. The social media includes social networking tools such as Facebook, Twitter, Hi-5, social news tools such as Reddit, Digg Propeller, social photo & video sharing tools such as Photobucket, Flickr, YouTube and social bookmarking tools such as Del.icio.us, Simpy. One of the advantages of social media advertising is proper targeting of market through the use of the users? demographic information provided. The disadvantage is measuring effectivity of social media advertising, whether or not the number of ?likes?, ?friends? or ?follows? could convert to actual sales.[10]

    Competitive advantage over traditional advertising

    One major benefit of online advertising is the immediate publishing of information and content that is not limited by geography or time. To that end, the emerging area of interactive advertising presents fresh challenges for advertisers who have hitherto adopted an interruptive strategy.Another benefit is the efficiency of the advertiser?s investment. Online advertising allows for the customization of advertisements, including content and posted websites. For example, AdWords, Yahoo! Search Marketing and Google AdSense enable ads to be shown on relevant web pages or alongside search results.

    Online advertisement

    The internet has become an ongoing emerging source that tends to expand more and more. The growth of this particular medium attracts the attention of advertisers as a more productive source to bring in consumers.A clear advantage consumers have with online advertisement is the control they have over the product, choosing whether to check it out or not.[11]Online advertisements may also offer various forms of animation. In its most common use, the term ?online advertising? comprises all sorts of banner, e-mail, in-game, and keyword advertising, including on platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, and MySpace. Web-related advertising has a variety of ways to publicize and reach a niche audience to focus its attention to a specific group. Research has proven that online advertising has given results and is a growing business revenue.[12] For the year 2012, Jupiter Research predicted $34.5 billion in US online advertising spending.

    Types of Internet marketing

    Internet marketing is broadly divided in to the following types:[13][better?source?needed]

    • Display advertising: the use of web banners or banner ads placed on a third-party website or blog to drive traffic to a company?s own website and increase product awareness.[13]
    • Search engine marketing (SEM): a form of marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in search engine result pages (SERPs) through the use of either paid placement, contextual advertising, and paid inclusion, or through the use of free search engine optimization techniques also known as organic result.[14]
    • Search engine optimization (SEO): the process of improving the visibility of a website or a web page in search engines via the ?natural? or un-paid (?organic? or ?algorithmic?) search results.
    • Social media marketing: the process of gaining traffic or attention through social media websites such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.[15]
    • Email marketing: directly marketing a commercial message to a group of people using electronic mail.
    • Referral marketing: a method of promoting products or services to new customers through referrals, usually word of mouth.
    • Affiliate marketing: a marketing practice in which a business rewards one or more affiliates for each visitor or customer brought about by the affiliate?s own marketing efforts.
    • Inbound marketing: involves creating and freely sharing informative content as a means of converting prospects into customers and customers into repeat buyers.
    • Video marketing: This type of marketing specializes in creating videos that engage the viewer into a buying state by presenting information in video form and guiding them to a product or service[citation needed] Online video is increasingly becoming more popular among internet users and companies are seeing it as a viable method of attracting customers.[16]

    Business models

    Internet marketing is associated with several business models:

    • E-commerce: a model whereby goods and services are sold directly to a consumer or business.
    • Lead-based websites: a strategy whereby an organization generates value by acquiring sales leads from its website.[citation needed] Similar to walk-in customers in retail world. These prospects are often referred to as organic leads.
    • Affiliate marketing: a process wherein a product or service developed by one entity is sold by other active sellers for a share of profits.[citation needed] The entity that owns the product may provide some marketing material (e.g., sales letters, affiliate links, tracking facilities, etc.); however, the vast majority of affiliate marketing relationships come from e-commerce businesses that offer affiliate programs.[citation needed]

    Revenue models

    The three most common ways in which online advertising is purchased are CPM, CPC, and CPA.

    • CPM (Cost Per Mille) or CPT (Cost Per Thousand Impressions) is when advertisers pay for exposure of their message to a specific audience. ?Per mille? means per thousand impressions, or loads of an advertisement. However, some impressions may not be counted, such as a reload or internal user action.
    • CPV (Cost Per Visitor) is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor to the advertisers website.
    • CPV (Cost Per View) is when advertisers pay for each unique user view of an advertisement or website (usually used with pop-ups, pop-unders and interstitial ads).
    • CPC (Cost Per Click) or PPC (Pay per click) is when advertisers pay each time a user clicks on their listing and is redirected to their website. They do not actually pay for the listing, but only when the listing is clicked on. This system allows advertising specialists to refine searches and gain information about their market. Under the Pay per click pricing system, advertisers pay for the right to be listed under a series of target rich words that direct relevant traffic to their website, and pay only when someone clicks on their listing which links directly to their website. CPC differs from CPV in that each click is paid for regardless of whether the user makes it to the target site.
    • CPA (Cost Per Action or Cost Per Acquisition) or PPF (Pay Per Performance)[17] advertising is performance based and is common in the affiliate marketing sector of the business. In this payment scheme, the publisher takes all the risk of running the ad, and the advertiser pays only for the number of users who complete a transaction, such as a purchase or sign-up. This model ignores any inefficiency in the seller?s web site conversion funnel. The following are common variants of CPA:

      CPL (Cost Per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will lead to a sale.
      CPS (Cost Per Sale), PPS (Pay Per Sale), or CPO (Cost Per Order) advertising is based on each time a sale is made.[18]

    • CPL (Cost Per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will lead to a sale.
    • CPS (Cost Per Sale), PPS (Pay Per Sale), or CPO (Cost Per Order) advertising is based on each time a sale is made.[18]
    • CPL (Cost Per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will lead to a sale.
    • CPS (Cost Per Sale), PPS (Pay Per Sale), or CPO (Cost Per Order) advertising is based on each time a sale is made.[18]
    • eCPM: Effective CPM or eCPM calculated through other conversion events such as Cost per Clicks, Cost per Downloads, Cost per Leads etc. for example when an advertiser getting $2 per download and for 100,000 impressions you received 10 downloads worth $20, in this case your effective CPM or eCPM will be 2*20*1000/100,000= $0.4
    • Fixed Cost: Advertiser paying fixed cost for delivery frame by campaign flight dates without any relevance to performance
    • Cost per conversion Describes the cost of acquiring a customer, typically calculated by dividing the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of conversions. The definition of ?Conversion? varies depending on the situation: it is sometimes considered to be a lead, a sale, or a purchase.

    Online advertisement as Digital Promotions for Television

    Online advertisement can also be classified as Digital Promotions. Digital promotion in connection to the television industry is when networks use authentic digital resources to promote their new shows in a growing vast range of venues.[19] Television networks development of digital off air promotional strategies allowed digital promotion to remain significant to the advertisement advancement in the television.Examples of television online digital promotions: The Sci Fi network for loaded a special recap episode of Battlestar Galactica onto Microsoft?s Xbox online gaming service; this gave the audience additional opportunities to sample content if they may or may not be familiar with the show.[20]Another example of digital promotion in television is when network CBS incorporated new digital technologies of Bluetooth-enabled mobile devices that were able to download a thirty-second clip of a new show on their devices; consumers standing in range of a billboard don?t need an internet link to download the show?s content.[21]These non-linear viewing opportunities provided as a valuable tool for gaining audiences; and to encourage them to intersect with the linear audience.[22]

    Approaches

    One-to-one approaches

    In a one-to-one approach, marketers target a user browsing the Internet alone and so that the marketers? messages reach the user personally. This approach is used in search marketing, for which the advertisements are based on search engine keywords entered by the users. This approach usually works under the pay per click (PPC) method.[citation needed]

    Appeal to specific interests

    When appealing to specific interests, marketers place an emphasis on appealing to a specific behavior or interest, rather than reaching out to a broadly defined demographic.[citation needed] These marketers typically segment their markets according to age group, gender, geography, and other general factors.[citation needed]Appealing to specific users can be achieved through behavioral targeting which refers to the use of behavioral patterns and putting up the relevant content suitable to the viewer?s interest obtained from the user through cookies and other tools and contextual advertising which refers to the publishing of advertisements and ads based on the context the user in. For example if the user is searching for coffee, the search engine publishes ads related to coffee.

    Niche marketing

    In conventional niche marketing, clusters of consumers (the niche) are identified in order to more economically and efficiently target them.[23] Similarly, niche internet marketing attempts to create a more direct advertising message for those who are seen as most likely to buy the product being advertised (see Target audience and Conversion rate).[citation needed]Niche internet marketing focuses on marketing products and services which are, or can appear, tailor-made for a specific subset of consumers who are expected to buy the product or service with a specific motivation. The online advertising message (or product web site) can then be similarly tailor-made to target that assumed motivation.[citation needed] In combination with search engine optimization, the niche internet marketer can attempt to increase the likelihood that their product?s advertisement (or site) will be seen by customers in the relevant niche.[citation needed]

    Geo-targeting

    In Internet marketing, geotargeting is the methods of determining the geolocation of a website visitor with geolocation software, and delivering different content to that visitor based on his or her location, such as latitude and longitude, country, region or state, city, metro code or zip code, organization, Internet Protocol (IP) address, ISP, and other criteria.[citation needed]

    Types

    Though, as seen above, the large majority of online advertising has a cost that is brought about by usage or interaction of an ad, there are a few other methods of advertising online that only require a one time payment. The Million Dollar Homepage is a very successful example of this. Visitors were able to pay $1 per pixel of advertising space and their advert would remain on the homepage for as long as the website exists with no extra costs.

    • Floating ad: An ad which moves across the user?s screen or floats above the content.
    • Expanding ad: An ad which changes size and which may alter the contents of the webpage.
    • Polite ad: A method by which a large ad will be downloaded in smaller pieces to minimize the disruption of the content being viewed
    • Wallpaper ad: An ad which changes the background of the page being viewed.
    • Trick banner: A banner ad that looks like a dialog box with buttons. It simulates an error message or an alert.
    • Pop-up: A new window which opens in front of the current one, displaying an advertisement, or entire webpage.
    • Pop-under: Similar to a Pop-Up except that the window is loaded or sent behind the current window so that the user does not see it until they close one or more active windows.
    • Video ad: similar to a banner ad, except that instead of a static or animated image, actual moving video clips are displayed. This is the kind of advertising most prominent in television, and many advertisers will use the same clips for both television and online advertising.
    • Map ad: text or graphics linked from, and appearing in or over, a location on an electronic map such as on Google Maps.
    • Mobile ad: an SMS text or multi-media message sent to a cell phone.
    • Superstitial: An animated ad on a Web page from Enliven Marketing Technologies. It uses video, 3D content or Flash to provide a TV-like advertisement. Used to be known as Unicast Transitional ads as they were originally made by Unicast Communications but the company was acquired by Viewpoint Corporation in 2004, which then changed its name to Enliven in 2008.[24]
    • Interstitial ad: a full-page ad that appears before a user reaches their original destination.
    • Frame ad: an ad that appeared within an HTML frame, usually at the top with the site logo. As the user browsed the site, the frame would not change.

    In addition, ads containing streaming video or streaming audio are becoming very popular with advertisers.[25][26]

    E-mail advertising

    Legitimate Email advertising or E-mail marketing is often known as ?opt-in e-mail advertising? or permission marketing to distinguish it from spam.

    Display advertising

    Display advertising appears on web pages in many forms, including web banners. These banners can consist of static or animated images, as well as interactive media that may include audio and video elements. Display advertising on the Internet is widely used for branding. This is why metrics like interaction time are becoming more relevant. This may change in the future as display advertising is becoming much more targeted to users, much like how search engine ads can be extremely relevant to users based on what they are searching for. Display advertisers use cookie and browser history to determine demographics and interests of users and target appropriate ads to those browsers. Banner ad standards have changed over the years to larger sizes, in part due to increased resolution of standard monitors and browsers, in part to provide advertisers with more impact for their investment. The standards continue to evolve. Banner ads can be targeted to internet users in many different ways in order to reach the advertiser?s most relevant audience. Behavioral retargeting, demographic targeting, geographic targeting, and site based targeting are all common ways in which advertisers choose to target their banner ads.

    Affiliate marketing

    Affiliate marketing is a form of online advertising where advertisers place campaigns with a potentially large number of small (and large) publishers, who are only paid media fees when traffic to the advertiser is garnered, and usually upon a specific measurable campaign result (a form, a sale, a sign-up, etc.). Today, this is usually accomplished through contracting with an affiliate network.Affiliate marketing was an invention by CDNow.com in 1994 and was excelled by Amazon.com when it launched its Affiliate Program, called Associate Program in 1996. The online retailer used its program to generate low cost brand exposure and provided at the same time small websites a way to earn some supplemental income.

    Behavioral targeting

    In addition to contextual targeting, online advertising can be targeted based on a user?s online behavior. This practice is known as behavioral targeting. For example, if a user is known to have recently visited a number of automotive shopping / comparison sites based on clickstream analysis enabled by cookies stored on the user?s computer, that user can then be served auto-related ads when they visit other, non-automotive sites.In the United States the Federal Trade Commission has been involved in the oversight of behavioral targeting for some time. In 2011 the FTC proposed a ?Do Not Track? mechanism to allow Internet users to opt-out of behavioral targeting.

    Semantic advertising

    Semantic advertising applies semantic analysis techniques to web pages. The process is meant to accurately interpret and classify the meaning and/or main subject of the page and then populate it with targeted advertising spots. By closely linking content to advertising, it is assumed that the viewer will be more likely to show an interest (i.e., through engagement) in the advertised product or service.

    Social network advertising

    Social network advertising is a form of Online advertising that focuses on social networking sites. Advertising on social media networks can take the form of direct display ad buys at the social networks, self-serve advertising through internal ad networks, and ad serving on social network applications through special social network application advertising networks.[27]

    Ad server market structure

    Given below is a list of top Ad server vendors in 2008 with figures in millions of viewers published in an Attributor survey. Since 2008 Google has controlled an estimated 69% of the online advertising market.[28]It should be noted that Google acquired DoubleClick in 2007 for a consideration of $3.1 billion. The above survey was based on a sample of 68 million domains.

    Advantages and limitations of Internet marketing

    Advantages

    Internet marketing is inexpensive when examining the ratio of cost to the reach of the target audience.[citation needed] Companies can reach a wide audience for a small fraction of traditional advertising budgets.[citation needed] The nature of the medium allows consumers to research and to purchase products and services conveniently.[citation needed] Therefore, businesses have the advantage of appealing to consumers in a medium that can bring results quickly.[citation needed]Internet marketers also have the advantage of measuring statistics easily and inexpensively; almost all aspects of an Internet marketing campaign can be traced, measured, and tested, in many cases through the use of an ad server.[citation needed] The advertisers can use a variety of methods, such as pay per impression, pay per click, pay per play, and pay per action. Therefore, marketers can determine which messages or offerings are more appealing to the audience.[citation needed] The results of campaigns can be measured and tracked immediately because online marketing initiatives usually require users to click on an advertisement, to visit a website, and to perform a targeted action.[citation needed]

    Problems of online advertising

    Privacy

    The use of online advertising has implications on the privacy and anonymity of users. Hosting the banner images on its servers and using third-party cookies, the advertising company is able to track the browsing of users across these two sites.Third-party cookies can be blocked by most browsers to increase privacy and reduce tracking by advertising and tracking companies without negatively affecting the user?s Web experience. Many advertising operators have an opt-out option to behavioral advertising, with a generic cookie in the browser stopping behavioral advertising.

    Malware

    There is also a class of advertising methods which are considered unethical and may even be illegal. These include external applications which alter system settings (such as a browser?s home page), spawn pop-ups, and insert advertisements into non-affiliated webpages. Such applications are usually labelled as spyware or adware. They may mask their questionable activities by performing a simple service, such as displaying the weather or providing a search bar. These programs are designed to dupe the user, acting effectively as Trojan horses. These applications are commonly designed so as to be difficult to remove or uninstall. The ever-increasing audience of online users, many of whom are not computer-savvy, frequently lack the knowledge and technical ability to protect themselves from these programs.

    Limitations

    • One of the challenges that Internet markets face (as does the general public) is that many internet products are outright scams or promoted with deception making it difficult to know what one is buying. This is especially the case with products that are supposed to train or aid Internet marketers in making money. While the quality of products has improved in the past few years, ethics is still often missing in internet marketing. Many so-called money making products are ?empty boxes? in which there is essentially nothing there yet a buyer is to make money by reselling this empty box to others. Pyramid schemes are also still prevalent.
    • The consumer is unable to physically feel or try on the product which can be a limitation for certain goods. However a survey of consumers of cosmetics products shows that email marketing can be used to interest a consumer to visit a store to try a product or to speak with sales representatives. [29]
    • The marketer will not be able to use personal interaction to influence the audience as the marketing is completely based on the advertisement and the information that the advertisement might lead to (websites, blogs and other channels).

    Security concerns

    Information security is important both to companies and consumers that participate in online business. Many consumers are hesitant to purchase items over the Internet because they do not believe that their personal information will remain private. Some companies that purchase customer information offer the option for individuals to have their information removed from their promotional redistribution, also known as opting out. However, many customers are unaware if and when their information is being shared, and are unable to stop the transfer of their information between companies if such activity occurs. Additionally, companies holding private information are vulnerable to data attacks and leaks. Internet browsing privacy is a related consumer concern. Web sites routinely capture browsing and search history which can be used to provide targeted advertising. Privacy policies can provide transparency to these practices. Spyware prevention software can also be used to shield the consumer.Another consumer e-commerce concern is whether or not they will receive exactly what they purchase. Online merchants have attempted to address this concern by investing in and building strong consumer brands (e.g., Amazon.com, eBay, and Overstock.com), and by using merchant and feedback rating systems and e-commerce bonding solutions.[citation needed] All these solutions attempt to assure consumers that their transactions will be free of problems because the merchants can be trusted to provide reliable products and services.[citation needed] Additionally, several major online payment mechanisms (credit cards, PayPal, Google Checkout, etc.) have provided back-end buyer protection systems to address problems if they occur.[citation needed]

    Ethics

    Online advertising encompasses a range of types of advertising, some of which are deployed ethically and some are not. Some websites use large numbers of advertisements, including flashing banners that distract the user, and some have misleading images designed to look like error messages from the operating system, rather than advertisements. Websites that unethically use online advertising for revenue frequently do not monitor what advertisements on their website link to, allowing advertisements to lead to sites with malicious software or audience-inappropriate material. The ethical propriety of advertisers that use web searches for competitors? brands to trigger their own ads has been questioned.[30]Some argue that website operators who ethically use online advertising typically use a small number of advertisements that are not intended to distract or irritate the user, and do not detract from the design and layout of their websites.[31] Many website owners deal directly with companies that want to place ads, meaning that the website linked to by the advertisement is legitimate.The use of technologies like Adobe Flash in online advertising has led to some users disabling it in their browsers, or using browser plug-ins like Adblock or NoScript. Many sites use centralized advertising services whose advertisement may be blocked as a side effect of security and privacy measures, because the services require JavaScript and cross-site requests to function, while such features are often not necessary to use the sites and are a potential source of vulnerabilities.Some companies perform customer engagement studies in online marketing to insure consumer satisfaction, through the use of online compliance centers, building and deploying fraud detection tools, while inspecting websites and publishers to insure website pages offer the highest degree of information security and compliance with Can Spam Requirements.[32]

    ?Internet marketing? scams

    In May 2012, The Verge writer Joseph L. Flatley reported that the terms ?Internet marketing? and ?Internet marketer? have been co-opted by a loose association of confidence artists running online get-rich-quick schemes.[33]

    Usage trends

    Technological advancements in the telecommunications industry have dramatically affected online advertising techniques.[citation needed] Many firms are embracing a paradigm that is shifting the focus of advertising methodology from traditional text and image advertisements to those containing more recent technologies like JavaScript and Adobe Flash.[citation needed] As a result, advertisers can more effectively engage and connect their audience with their campaigns that seek to shape consumer attitudes and feelings towards specific products and services.[citation needed]

    Effects on industries

    The number of banks offering the ability to perform banking tasks over the internet has increased.[citation needed] Online banking appeals to customers because it is often faster and considered more convenient than visiting bank branches.[34]

    Advertising industry

    In addition to the major effect internet marketing has had on the technology industry, the effect on the advertising industry itself has been profound. In just a few years, online advertising has grown to be worth tens of billions of dollars annually.[35][36][37] PricewaterhouseCoopers reported that US$16.9?billion was spent on Online marketing in the U.S. in 2006.[38]This has caused a growing impact on the United States? electoral process. In 2008, candidates for President heavily utilized Internet marketing strategies to reach constituents. During the 2007 primaries, candidates added, on average, over 500?social network supporters per day to help spread their message. President Barack Obama raised over US$1?million in one day during his extensive Democratic candidacy campaign, largely due to online donors.[39]Several industries have heavily invested in and benefited from internet marketing and online advertising. Some of them were originally brick and mortar businesses such as publishing, music, automotive or gambling, while others have sprung up as purely online businesses, such as digital design and media, blogging, and internet service hosting.[citation needed]

    Film and television marketing

    Industries such as film and television were somewhat slow when it came to putting content on the Internet. Film trailers, television show schedules and ?interactive? press kits came on the scene quite quickly as the content that promoted such products. This major media platform was developed with investments of millions by the film studios and television networks because it was a valuable marketing tool.[40]

    See also

    • Ad server
    • App store optimization
    • Article marketing
    • Classified advertising
    • Conversion rate
    • Digital marketing
    • Frequency capping
    • In-text advertising
    • Inbound marketing
    • Lead scoring
    • Media transparency
    • Netnography
    • Online identity management
    • Online lead generation
    • Pay per click
    • Post-click marketing
    • Product feed
    • Real-time marketing
    • Search engine marketing
    • Social media optimization
    • Viral marketing
    • Web banner
    • Online presence management
    • Industry calculations:

      Click Through Rate (CTR)
      View-through rate (VTR)
      Cost Per Action (CPA)

      effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)

      Cost Per Click or Pay Per Click (CPC or PPC)
      Cost Per Impression (CPI)

      Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

      effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

    • Click Through Rate (CTR)
    • View-through rate (VTR)
    • Cost Per Action (CPA)

      effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)

    • effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)
    • Cost Per Click or Pay Per Click (CPC or PPC)
    • Cost Per Impression (CPI)

      Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

      effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

    • Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

      effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

    • effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)
    • Compensation methods
    • Classified advertising
    • Web advertising:

      Ad filtering
      Advertising network
      Article marketing
      Affiliate marketing
      Central ad server
      Click fraud
      Dot Commercials

    • Ad filtering
    • Advertising network
    • Article marketing
    • Affiliate marketing
    • Central ad server
    • Click fraud
    • Dot Commercials
    • E-mail advertising:

      e-mail spam
      opt-in e-mail advertising
      spamming
      In-text advertising

    • e-mail spam
    • opt-in e-mail advertising
    • spamming
    • In-text advertising
    • Mobile Advertising

      Mobile Marketing
      Mobile Development
      WAP
      Online classified advertising
      Overlay
      Pay per click
      Pay per play
      Performance-based advertising
      Pop-up ad

    • Mobile Marketing
    • Mobile Development
    • WAP
    • Online classified advertising
    • Overlay
    • Pay per click
    • Pay per play
    • Performance-based advertising
    • Pop-up ad
    • Search Engines

      Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
      Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
      Semantic advertising
      Unicast ad
      Web banner

    • Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
    • Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
    • Semantic advertising
    • Unicast ad
    • Web banner
    • Click Through Rate (CTR)
    • View-through rate (VTR)
    • Cost Per Action (CPA)

      effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)

    • effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)
    • Cost Per Click or Pay Per Click (CPC or PPC)
    • Cost Per Impression (CPI)

      Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

      effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

    • Cost Per Mille (CPM), also known as Cost Per Thousand (CPT)

      effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)

    • effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)
    • effective Cost Per Action (eCPA)
    • effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM)
    • Ad filtering
    • Advertising network
    • Article marketing
    • Affiliate marketing
    • Central ad server
    • Click fraud
    • Dot Commercials
    • e-mail spam
    • opt-in e-mail advertising
    • spamming
    • In-text advertising
    • Mobile Marketing
    • Mobile Development
    • WAP
    • Online classified advertising
    • Overlay
    • Pay per click
    • Pay per play
    • Performance-based advertising
    • Pop-up ad
    • Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
    • Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
    • Semantic advertising
    • Unicast ad
    • Web banner

    References

    • Internet advertising methods
    • Internet marketing
    • Types of marketing
    • Marketing by medium
    • Articles needing cleanup from September 2012
    • All articles needing cleanup
    • Cleanup tagged articles with a reason field from September 2012
    • Wikipedia pages needing cleanup from September 2012
    • Articles needing additional references from May 2008
    • All articles needing additional references
    • All pages needing factual verification
    • Wikipedia articles needing factual verification from December 2012
    • All articles with unsourced statements
    • Articles with unsourced statements from May 2012
    • Articles needing additional references from January 2011
    • Articles with unsourced statements from January 2011
    • Articles with unsourced statements from July 2012
    • Wikipedia articles needing reorganization from November 2012
    • Articles needing additional references from June 2009

    Tags: advertising, online

    Source: http://www.profitabletraffik.com/online-advertising/

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    Friday, December 28, 2012

    Recall news

    The following recall has been announced:

    ____

    CHILDREN'S DENIM JEANS

    DETAILS: Falls Creek Kids infant and toddler denim jeans imported by Meijer Distribution Inc. of Grand Rapids, Mich.; sold exclusively at Meijer and HEB stores nationwide from June through November 2012. Falls Creek Kids infant and toddler, boys and girls denim jeans were sold in sizes 12M-5T. "Falls Creek Kids" is printed on a tag sewn on the inside back of the waistband. The jeans are denim; some have a pink star or heart graphic design stitched on the outside front and back of the jeans. The jeans also were sold with cargo-style pockets. There is label on the inside of the jeans near the front-left pocket that includes the date and location of production. The jeans were manufactured in China.

    WHY: The snap on the front of the jeans may come loose and separate from the fabric, posing a choking hazard to young children.

    INCIDENTS: None reported.

    HOW MANY: About 140,500.

    FOR MORE: Contact Meijer at 800-927-8699, or visit the firm's website at http://www.meijer.com .

    Source: http://news.yahoo.com/recall-news-215006441.html

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    Trying to halt hepatitis C's molecular hijacking

    Dec. 27, 2012 ? Researchers at the University of Colorado School of Medicine have figured out intimate details of how the hepatitis C virus takes over an invaded cell, a breakthrough that could point to way for new treatments for the virus.

    Hep C hijacks the machinery by which a cell makes proteins and uses it instead to create proteins for the virus. Over the last two decades, researchers have figured out that Hep C uses an RNA molecule to do this. Now they're trying to fill in the details.

    One key detail is reported in a paper published online Dec. 23 in Nature Structural and Molecular Biology. It's written by Jeffrey Kieft, PhD, an associate professor at the CU medical school's Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics and an Early Career Scientist of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and his former graduate student, Megan Filbin, PhD, a graduate of the Program in Molecular Biology.

    Working with researchers from the lab of Tamir Gonen at the Janelia Farm Research Campus of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Kieft used ultra high-power electron microscopes to take images of individual RNA molecules from Hep C as they interacted with the cell's machinery. The researchers combined those images with a variety of other experiments and these clues led them to identify a new way that the virus' RNAs takes over the cell's machinery.

    Specifically, the researchers focused on how a ribosome, the cell's protein-making factory, can be manipulated by the Hep C RNA to affect a part of the protein process called translocation. And they saw something else -- that even very small changes in the interactions important for that hijacking process can be blocked.

    "This points the way to developing drugs to fight hepatitis C in ways that current therapies do not," Kieft says.

    Share this story on Facebook, Twitter, and Google:

    Other social bookmarking and sharing tools:


    Story Source:

    The above story is reprinted from materials provided by University of Colorado Denver, via EurekAlert!, a service of AAAS.

    Note: Materials may be edited for content and length. For further information, please contact the source cited above.


    Journal Reference:

    1. Megan E Filbin, Breanna S Vollmar, Dan Shi, Tamir Gonen, Jeffrey S Kieft. HCV IRES manipulates the ribosome to promote the switch from translation initiation to elongation. Nature Structural & Molecular Biology, 2012; DOI: 10.1038/nsmb.2465

    Note: If no author is given, the source is cited instead.

    Disclaimer: This article is not intended to provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Views expressed here do not necessarily reflect those of ScienceDaily or its staff.

    Source: http://feeds.sciencedaily.com/~r/sciencedaily/health_medicine/genes/~3/ZPq9p_aDspw/121227173336.htm

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    Gulmarg A Hot Identify For Awesome Winter Weather Sports


    For winter game fans, a journey to Gulmarg Kashmir in the center of winter can be an thrilling experience. The ski hills and snow skiing features attracts several lovers here. But Gulmarg has a lot to offer even its summer time guests. The wonder opinions, mdw and plant packed landscapes are a cure for the sight.

    Getting to Gulmarg

    You can access Gulmarg either through Srinagar (52 kilometers) or Jammu (300 kilometers). If you are on a funds, Jammu is the better bet as it has a train place. Srinagar is the nearest terminal to Gulmarg. The Srinagar-Gulmarg range can be protected by cab and takes around two hours.

    Gulmarg Hotels

    Gulmarg is well prepared for guests throughout the year. There are nearly 40 resorts in the small city and they range across the wide range from high-class to primary.

    Here's a look at some of the funds Gulmarg resorts.

    Hotel Welcome

    The resort is situated on the town's main street, known as the Blvd. The place has a wide range of bed rooms such as luxurious, professional and presidential. Each of the bed rooms comes prepared with a tv and heating and cooling features. The place also has a multi-cuisine cafe.

    Hotel Zam Zam

    The Zam Zam resort is in the center of Gulmarg and is right next to the cab take a position. The place provides relaxed bed rooms with tv and intercom features. Space heating units are available on ask for. The place has a cafe for its guests and room support is also available. There is also a washing laundry support.

    Gulmarg Inn

    The Gulmarg Inn has all the services that are required for a relaxed stay. The bed rooms are huge and slightly prepared. Each room has an connected shower, tv, operating hot and chilly water. The place also has a quality cafe that provides multi-cuisine food. Though the cafe ends down at 10 pm, room support is available at all times. The place also provides washing laundry support and a travel table to give advice on local sight-seeing. There is also a physician on call at the resort.Hotel Khaleel Palace

    The resort has a wonderful wood made framework and is situated at Gandola in Gulmarg. The place is separated into two pizza known as the Hawa Mahal and the Pari Mahal. Both the pizza together have 13 bed rooms. In addition, the resort provides features like spa and rub room. The place cafe, known as Sarposh, provides Native indian, China and Navigator dishes. The place also has Wi-Fi connection and safe down payment features.

    Gulmarg provides a lot of accommodations options for both guests and activities lovers.

    Source: http://www.articlesnatch.com/Article/Gulmarg-----A-Hot-Identify-For-Awesome-Winter-Weather-Sports/4350502

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    Winter storm hits eastern U.S., snarls holiday travel

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - A powerful winter storm that has claimed at least five lives pounded the U.S. Midwest and Northeast and snarled post-Christmas travel on Wednesday after rare tornadoes pummeled the Gulf Coast.

    Heavy snow and high winds prompted National Weather Service blizzard and winter storm warnings for the Ohio River Valley and into the Northeast. Fifteen inches of snow were recorded at New Baltimore, Michigan, as the storm headed north and east.

    About 1,500 U.S. flights were canceled on Wednesday, according to FlightAware.com, a site that tracks flights. Some 170 flights also have been called off for Thursday, and several airlines waived ticket change fees for affected customers.

    All four runways at Philadelphia International Airport were open on Wednesday, but some travelers still faced some canceled flights.

    Mary Mazzoni, 25, an environmental writer from Scottsdale, Arizona, had to book an alternate flight on a different airline after her original flight to Phoenix was canceled. She is scheduled to arrive in Phoenix late on Wednesday.

    "It's a little annoying. But I'm trying to keep a good attitude about it," said Mazzoni, who was returning to Arizona after visiting relatives for the Christmas holidays.

    WINTER WONDERLAND

    The National Weather Service warned that 12 to 18 inches of snow were expected in northern New England, with snow falling through Friday morning. The storm was accompanied by freezing rain and sleet, making driving treacherous, it said.

    Across central New York, about 25 minor accidents were reported in a two-hour span Wednesday along major highways, said New York State Police Sergeant Nick Merritt.

    "Right now we have additional patrols out on the roads in case we need them," he said.

    If predictions of up to 16 inches of snow come true, Buffalo will still be well below average for snowfall, said Bill Hibbert, a meteorologist for the National Weather Service. Buffalo's snowfall is 23 inches below normal for the season.

    Severe thunderstorms and widespread rain were expected from southeast Virginia to Florida, the agency said. The eastern counties in North Carolina and South Carolina were under tornado watches or warnings for much of the day.

    The winter storm had swept out of the southern Great Plains and through the South on Tuesday. The system spawned at least 34 tornadoes.

    A Texas man died after an accident involving a toppled tree in the road. Icy roads contributed to the deaths of four people in auto crashes in Oklahoma and Arkansas, according to police.

    Twisters struck in Alabama, Mississippi, Texas and Louisiana, flattening houses and causing injuries, according to the weather service. The storm also dumped record snowfalls in north Texas and Arkansas.

    Nearly 200,000 homes and businesses had no electricity in Arkansas and Alabama on Wednesday.

    (Reporting by Colleen Jenkins and Ian Simpson; Additional reporting by Corrie MacLaggan, Eileen O'Grady, Steve Olafson, Dave Warner and Neale Gulley; Editing by Paul Thomasch and Sandra Maler)

    Source: http://news.yahoo.com/winter-storm-hits-eastern-u-snarls-holiday-travel-011551802.html

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    Thursday, December 27, 2012

    THPRD plans delayed for field for disabled athletes at Somerset ...

    Plans to build an outdoor field for athletes with disabilities at Somerset West Park ? the first of its kind in Oregon ? are moving slower than hoped, and full funding is not yet in place.

    The Tualatin Hills Park & Recreation District said in August that a master plan for the 6-acre park north of U.S. 26 would be presented to the public by the end of the year. It will probably be early 2013 before public meetings are held, said Bob Wayt, spokesman for the district.

    The district authorized a $496,500 contract in October with architecture firm 2.ink Studio to design the park. Once the master plan is finalized, it could be brought to the district for approval in the spring.

    Around $1.5 million has been allocated from the district?s 2008 bond measure to pay for the park upgrades, and the Tualatin Hills Park Foundation is expected to raise between $1.7 million and $2.1 million for the project, according to a September staff report. The full cost is estimated around $4.4 million, according to the report.

    To cover the difference, the project could be built in phases, or bond money from other areas could be reallocated toward the park, the report said.

    Once completed, the park will include a baseball field with dugouts, restrooms bleachers and seating areas that can accommodate people using wheelchairs, walkers and crutches. The site could also include other sports fields.

    ?Nicole Friedman

    Source: http://www.oregonlive.com/beaverton/index.ssf/2012/12/thprd_plans_delayed_for_field.html

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    Wednesday, December 26, 2012

    Gifts For IT Field In This Christmas | Amar Infotech

    Well the IT industry has like ever been good and Santa heard the prayers of the field and has left a gift this year. IT business will have revelation with growing demand for web development as the businesses go and grow online. E-commerce will be able to set a new record with development in web designing industry.

    Today?s world is dependent on Information Technology and Web. They will continue to be, the driving force of every industry on the planet. IT and web services forms the infrastructure of business and are the enablers of the information age. IT and web services permeates your everyday life. IT and web services brings it all together.

    All the IT services and web development, customization and maintenance will take businesses to next level. Be it php, Asp.net or mobile media development applications can enhance efficiency and increase your business. Web designs will offer businesses features like never before. There will be a boom in IT with increased users and more profits. Online presence will have reached a new high by features such as eye-catching logos, graphics, cool colors, easy fonts, center layout, clutter-free design, strategically placed call to action buttons, and a lot of white space.

    The custom made Web apps will help in streamlining internal and external workflows and processes. Content management system like word press will shape ideas of B2B / B2C, social community portals and job portals.

    It is important to assess and acquire a limiting factor that determines if a user/visitor will perform an action or not and for this building trust is a very essential concept. Purchasing from an e-commerce website, hiring someone based on their portfolio, downloading data and even accepting the advice or opinion of a blog post all require trust beforehand. Trust therefore a scarce but highly valuable commodity.

    Social media has come to aid through analytics for restructuring web development with help of analytics and build trust with what a user/visitor wants. Many data extracted from social media discussions aids in understanding the user demand from websites of various businesses and helps IT industry focus on the gaps. Many output of analytics state exactly what a website of particular businesses lack. Web developer can now focus on all the available information and build a website which is not only user friendly but also attention gripping and give a stimulating experience that a visitor was hoping for. ?Today, many businesses and services exist only online and therefore website will be the sole point of contact for such businesses. A professional level of design will ensure that a significant amount of both time and money have been invested, will ensure a successful outcome and therefore a return on that investment.

    This gift to IT field will prove to be beneficial as now businesses can depend on the solution offered by the developers. Web developers will be able to offer effective Portal Solutions, Social Networking Solutions, Rich Internet Applications (RIAs), Internet Marketing Strategy, Software development solutions and maintenance.

    Tags: 2013, Christmas, IT field, web design company

    Source: http://blog.amarinfotech.com/christmas-gifts-to-it-field.html

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    Don't Fear That Expired Food

    The expiration date on foods like orange juice and even milk aren't indicators of when those products will go bad.

    iStockphoto.com

    The expiration date on foods like orange juice and even milk aren't indicators of when those products will go bad.

    iStockphoto.com

    Now that the Christmas feast is over, you may be looking at all the extra food you made, or the food that you brought home from the store that never even got opened.

    And you may be wondering: How long can I keep this? What if it's past its expiration date? Who even comes up with those dates on food, anyway, and what do they mean?

    Here's the short answer: Those "sell by" dates are there to protect the reputation of the food. They have very little to do with food safety. If you're worried whether food is still OK to eat, just smell it.

    One of the places that knows most about the shelf life of food is a scientific establishment in Livermore, Calif., called the National Food Lab. At the NFL, they put food on shelves for days, or weeks, or even years, to see how it holds up.

    Sometimes, they'll try to accelerate the process with 90-degree heat and high humidity.

    And then, from time to time, they'll take some of the food ? whether it's bagged salad greens, breakfast cereal, or fruit juice ? off the shelf and place it in front of a highly trained panel of experts who check the taste and smell and texture.

    "You would think that everybody can taste and smell food, but some of us are much better at it than others," says Jena Roberts, vice president for business development at the NFL. The lab has 40 of these food tasters on staff. "They are the most fit people in the group," says Roberts. "Because they don't eat the food. They expectorate it. Which is a fancy college word for spit it in a cup."

    The experts give the food grades, in numbers. The numbers go down as the food gets older. Bread gets stale. Salad dressings can start to taste rancid.

    John Ruff, president of the Institute of Food Technologists in Chicago, says the companies that sell this food take a look at those grades and decide where they will draw the line, to protect the reputation of their products.

    "If the product was designed, let's say, to be a 7 when it was fresh, you may choose that at 6.2, it's gotten to the point where [you] don't want it to be on the market anymore," he says.

    "If it's 6.0, would most people still find it reasonably good? Absolutely," he says. "But companies want people to taste their products as best they can at the optimum, because that's how they maintain their business and their market shares."

    This is all organized and carried out by food companies; there's no federal law that requires dates on any food except for infant formula, although some states do require sell-by dates on milk or meat.

    Still, these dates don't really tell you anything about whether food is safe.

    According to Ruff, most products are safe to eat long after their expiration date. In fact, even meat or milk that's clearly starting to spoil is not necessarily dangerous. "Very often, you won't eat it because of the smell, and you probably won't like the taste, but in a lot of cases, it's unlikely to cause you illness," he says.

    That's because it's not the food that sat on the shelf too long that makes you sick, Ruff says. It's the food that got contaminated with salmonella or listeria bacteria, or disease-causing strains of E. coli. And that food might not smell bad as it might have arrived in the store only yesterday.

    "In 40 years, in eight countries, if I think of major product recalls and food poisoning outbreaks, I can't think of [one] that was driven by a shelf-life issue," Ruff says.

    Canned food, in particular, can stay safe for a really long time. In 1974, scientists at the National Food Processors Association in Washington, D.C., got their hands on several old cans of food.

    Janet Dudek, now semi-retired and living in Vienna, Va., was among the scientists who analyzed this old food. Her assignment was a can of corn, vintage 1934, that was found in someone's basement in California.

    When they opened the can, Dudek says, the contents looked and smelled pretty much like ordinary canned corn. Analysis showed that it had most of the usual complement of nutrients ? although there were lower levels of a few, such as vitamin C.

    Results were similar for century-old canned oysters, tomatoes and red peppers in cans recovered from a sunken steamboat, buried in river silt near Omaha, Neb.

    Dudek says, as far as she knows, nobody actually tasted this food. That just wasn't done, she says. But they probably could have. "It would have been safe to eat if the can itself maintained its integrity," she says.

    When food in supermarkets passes its sell-by date, though, it gets swept off the shelves. Often, it's donated to food banks. Sometimes it's auctioned off.

    But if you discover such food in your pantry at home, there's really no reason to throw it out. Ruff says you should just sniff the meat and milk. If it smells funny, go ahead and toss it.

    But for most foods, don't worry. "As a consumer, I've certainly opened packages of food that were five years old."

    Source: http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2012/12/26/167819082/dont-fear-that-expired-food?ft=1&f=1007

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    Hero Dog Missing Snout Beats Cancer

    Kabang, the hero dog from the Philippines who lost her snout and upper jaw while protecting two children, has beaten cancer and is one step closer to getting cosmetic surgery.

    "There is no evidence of any remaining tumor," Gina Davis, the primary care veterinarian at the William R. Pritchard Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital at the University of California at Davis, told the San Francisco Chronicle.

    The brave canine gained notoriety late last year after she threw herself in front of her owner's daughter and niece to protect them from an oncoming speeding motorcycle. The children walked away unscathed, while Kabang lost her snout and upper jaw.

    A grassroots campaign raised money to bring Kabang to the U.S. for treatment, but when she arrived, doctors found the dog had an aggressive sexually transmitted cancer and heart worms, according to the Chronicle.

    With the cancer cured, Kabang must face grueling treatment to rid her body of heart worms before she can undergo the cosmetic procedure.

    "These heart worms are literally like spaghetti, living in the major arteries and heart and lungs," said Marty Becker, a veterinarian and featured writer at VetStreet.com, who has not treated Kabang.

    Treating the condition, which is often found in tropical and subtropical regions, is a very careful, deliberative process, Becker said, since veterinarians use arsenic.

    "You slowly poison the heart worms," Becker said. "It's very expensive and done with a lot of finesse. The dog will definitely feel malaise."

    After everything Kabang has been through, Becker has faith the hero pooch will pull through.

    "The great thing about this dog is it has such a strong spirit," he said. "Whether you witness it in person or through this story, it's so powerful."

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    Source: http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/abc-blogs/hero-dog-missing-snout-beats-cancer-192519767--abc-news-health.html

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